Signs of spring

There is a beautiful peach blossom tree a few streets from our house, and it’s in full bloom now, which must mean spring is almost here! Yesterday, Ben, Albina and I stood underneath it for ages, photographing the flowers. (We realised afterwards we must have looked a bit ridiculous.)

Bean and I stopped into Zumbo just before closing and they didn’t have many treats left, but we were able to try Blackcurrant, Mandarin and Pear & Vanilla macarons. They were OK, but no Strawberries & Cream.

Feels like every day it’s sunny, blue skies and a light breeze – perfect bike riding weather! I am obsessed with riding to work and am trying to channel Cadel Evans. If he can ride 200km across France each day, I can ride 14.

I’ve been on a Portuguese tart mission lately. When I lived in Dulwich Hill I had my favourite portuguese tart place – Fernandes patisserie on Marrickville Rd. But now I think I prefer the ones at Honeymoon Patisserie in Petersham (above). The flavours we tried were lemon & coconut, ricotta, almond and original. They also make mini bite-size versions, which are sooo cute (but surely not enough for a serious Portuguese tart craving). Jonquils are another awesome early Spring offering.

Kakawa chocolate store in East Sydney first tempted me via Lee Tran’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being Hungry blog. Whenever I am anywhere nearby, I drop by to pick up their bubble wrap chocolate, available in single origin varieties such as Venezuela 43% or Papua New Guinea 64%. (The one I bought, above, was just their traditional dark chocolate blend.) You can’t pop the bubbles like you can with the plastic version of bubblewrap, but it’s just as satisfying.

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 31, 2011 at 2:11 pm | Permalink

    Beautiful Flowers 🙂

  2. Posted July 31, 2011 at 11:30 pm | Permalink

    Everything’s so pretty. 🙂
    I especially love the picture of the bike. It gives off a nice, summery feeling. Blue skies, warm sun and a blue bike.
    The tarts look delicious. As well as the bubble wrap chocolate. I saw the picture & I wondered if it would actually “pop” if you bit into it. A little bit disappointed that it doesn’t, but still cool nonetheless.

  3. Posted August 1, 2011 at 12:25 am | Permalink

    Oh how lovely! But if it’s spring there does that mean it’s going to be winter up here soon?? TT No but fall comes first and its my favorite season so that’s ok XD

    The macarons look great, I want to try more macaron but so far I like looking at them more than eating them haha. What do the Portuguese tarts taste like, they look so homey and yummy!!

  4. Posted August 3, 2011 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    My gawd! Those macarons look amazing. YOu need to take me on a Zumbo journey!

  5. Posted August 3, 2011 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    Forgot to add – Sweet Belem in Petersham has amazing Portugese tarts (Petersham IS the home of great Portugese food). Make sure you give them a go – the only problem is that they seem to choose their own operating hours… pretty random!

  6. Posted August 5, 2011 at 2:24 am | Permalink

    love your blossom photos! weird that my peach tree haven’t blossomed yet this year 😦

  7. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted August 5, 2011 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    Story Book Dreams, the chocolate pops a little because of the texture, I guess? 🙂 But not like real bubblewrap.

    Sara Mari, Portuguese tarts are so delicious, they are a like a custard tart but with a more intense flavour and flaky pastry.

    Snowdomes, I will have to check it out, I’ve heard of it vaguely but never been there. Thanks for the tip 🙂

    Sugarpuffi, these are the only blossoms i’ve seen so far apart from magnolia, maybe it’s blossomed early because it’s in a very sunny spot…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

