True colours


If there’s one colour that inspires me, it’s pink. A quick flick through my iPhoto library told me that about 3/4 of the pictures I take are of pink things, and I can never say no to something if it’s pink. I was reading up about the colour meanings of this sweet hue lately and found out that pastries taste better when they come out of pink boxes or served on pink plates, as pink makes us crave sugar (source). I also read that it is a calming colour, and is used in prisons to calm inmates – but apparently it’s only the initial sight of the colour that has a tranquillizing effect, prolonged exposure to the colour can have the opposite effect ! I also found out that busy or overworked women may develop an attraction to pink as it reminds them of the ‘carefree days of childhood’ (from here).

I don’t know why I love pink, but here are some of my favourite pink moments of the last little while…

Above: I arrived at work on my bday to find these, from my lovely friend Virginia.

Above: I recently tried this pink grapefruit sparkling mineral water which appears to have been made in Daylesford, Vic. 

Above: Mad Mex has fun Mexican sodas, Jarritos. I asked the guy which one was the most popular and he said guava, so another pink drink for me.

Above: My friends Dave and Nicole came around on the weekend and brought me a bottle of Rekorderlig wild berries cider. I didn’t realise it was pink, because the bottles are brown glass, until I poured it into this vintage Sodastream bottle from Mitchell Rd Auction House. It’s great to serve anything from cola to milkshakes to berry cider, with the heart-printed straws Mads gave me, from Emerald & Ella.


Above: Don’t usually wear pink, but this (re-worked) vintage dress from Cream on Crown in Surry Hills was just too cute.

Above: Red & white isn’t really pink, but I think this colour combo has almost the same feel as pink. I bought this Gokuri apple juice from a vending machine at an onsen in Nagano, Japan, back in January. I wanted to take a piccie of the gorgeous design and was looking for a good background when I realised I was wearing one. My BF Ben took this shot for me before we left to visit Nagano’s famous snow monkeys.


Above: Saw these at Harris Farm last weekend. Awww.

Which colour inspires you?

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 12, 2011 at 8:36 pm | Permalink

    Pink has been my favorite color for several years now, before that I looked at pink as a color only for little girls, or really girly girls which I never identified with. As I grew out of my teens, I felt more comfortable with myself and happier with my life, which is around the time I started enjoying this color more. It’s definitely happy and cheerful! My room is pink and orange which reminds me of the summer, sunset, flowers and a bunch of other happy care-free things 🙂

  2. Posted July 14, 2011 at 3:00 am | Permalink

    such a pretty post of pink pictures 😀

  3. Posted July 15, 2011 at 9:23 am | Permalink

    yay for pink! that is my favourite colour too 😀 if u see my blog, its completely pink hehe

  4. Felo
    Posted July 15, 2011 at 4:55 pm | Permalink

    very nice post!
    I am feel inspired by blue as well as pink.

  5. Posted July 24, 2011 at 1:10 pm | Permalink

    I . Love. THIS POST

    I read that “red” is most kids’ fav color till they talk to an adult, and it changes to the more popular “blue”

  6. Posted July 29, 2011 at 2:19 am | Permalink

    Pink is my fave toooooooooo …. !!! So crazily pretty x

  7. Posted July 31, 2011 at 11:29 pm | Permalink

    Pink is not my favorite color, but I loved everything in this post. It all looked so yummy/pretty/cool. 😀 My favorite was the vintage bottle picture 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

