A confession


I’ve had my Canon G9 for three years and I still don’t *technically, officially* know how to use it properly. I know my macro from my manual focus, and can use TV mode and the basic manual settings, but when Ben glances over my shoulder and says, ‘You need to change your white balance / F-stop / ISO’, I’m still like, ‘Which one’s that again?’

At first my excuse was the Japanese instruction book. But my friend Stef sent me the English version years ago, so I don’t have any valid reason for remaining “in the dark”.

In the long-term, I’m gonna take a photography course, but in the meantime I’m trying to break out of my comfort zone with my camera.

Yesterday I was inspired by the beautiful winter sunlight and set myself the task of capturing the sun – usually I take photos in filtered light or shadow (like above) but not direct sun. It was a bit of a challenge as the sun doesn’t exactly stream into our apartment. In the morning, it shines into our living room but by the time I get up there’s only a small patch left – in the corner, between the wall and the sofa. In the late afternoon, the rays edge into the bedroom and light up a narrow portion of the sideboard next to the window. So I positioned my subject – a vase of unopened poppies from my friend Kiersten – in this rare sunny spot and snapped away. I ended up with the shot below, and I like how sunlight adds instant warmth.

I also took some sunlit shots of a pear & almond tart from Adriano Zumbo. I love how it’s decorated like a daisy, and by taking a pic of it with the sun, the flaked almond ‘petals’ (dusted with icing sugar) threw off an almost crown-like shadow.

Prior to the sun experiment, I had taken a few photos of macarons. It was a very sweet-filled Sunday – I blame my friend Kiersten, who had never been to Adriano Zumbo. Palm sugar is below, then pandan and vanilla.


Strawberries and cream is my favourite at the mo.

8 Comments

  1. Posted June 28, 2011 at 12:00 am | Permalink

    If you had not said it, I would’ve never known – your photography skills look amazing on this end, always !
    The picture of the unpopped poppies is really beautiful. I love the warm sunlight – it definitely adds a natural glow to the picture. And macro-shots are always awesome. I love how the background also has some greenish yellow from the trees 🙂 Though I’m sure using the blue and white sky as a backdrop would’ve been nice too.
    & that cake. Oh my ! It’s adorable. My first impression was of a lion, more than a daisy though. But I can totally see your point of view. And I love the shot with the shadow – very cool. xD

  2. Posted June 28, 2011 at 12:49 am | Permalink

    Lovely colours and shapes! And the tart looks delicious. Now I want to go to Zumbo. (Personally, I am superlazy and always use the auto settings. Which probably explains a lot about my photos.)

  3. Posted June 28, 2011 at 3:27 am | Permalink

    I am a HUGE poppy fan! Luuurve the pics

  4. KP
    Posted June 28, 2011 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    The poppies photo is gorgeous. Have any opened yet ? Maybe they are a dud bunch !

  5. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted June 28, 2011 at 10:55 am | Permalink

    Thanks Storybookdreamer, I love how you saw the tart as a lion 😀 Actually when I first saw it in the shop I thought it was a sun.

    Alison, yeah I always complain about the queue at zumbo but it is usually worth the wait…

    Snowdomes, it’s my first bunch of poppies evs!

    KP, yes! 1 today and I think a few more tomorrow!

  6. Posted June 29, 2011 at 12:12 am | Permalink

    i heart your photos esp the poppies nawww theyre all fuzzy ❤

  7. Posted June 29, 2011 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    nawww~ur photos are pretty! loved the shot of the poppys!

  8. Posted June 30, 2011 at 4:10 am | Permalink

    Oooo I will do a photography course with you! 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

