Back from hiatus


I don’t have a good excuse for my lack of posts, it’s just a combo of being busy at work, feeling uninspired and not having my camera at integral moments. Also, like half of Sydney, I’ve had a cold, so eucalyptus lollies (above) are the only sweets I’ve come across in a while. (Thanks Mads for the pretty heart cut-outs.)

However, this past weekend the sun was shining and I was feeling myself again, so I walked to my new favourite foodie enclave, Rozelle, to visit Victoire patisserie and Belle Fleur Fine Chocolates, which conveniently happen to be next door to each other.

Victoire is fast becoming my favourite patisserie. The pastries are rich and buttery, the bread rustic and artisan (loving the olive loaf right now) and the staff have French accents. What’s more, every time I’ve visited, the staff have been lovely and helpful – and sometimes even complimentary; one time the girl who worked there said ‘Mmm, you smell good. What fragrance are you wearing?’ I also love their less-is-more approach. I’ll take a bakery with just a few choice cakes on offer over a filled glass cabinet any day.

I tried their chocolate tart (above) $4.95. I can’t help but compare it to Bourke St Bakery’s version. Victoire’s pastry is crunchier and denser than BSB’s flaky, buttery base, but the harder, plainer shell works as a perfect foil to the silky dark chocolate ganache – way more intense than BSB’s milk chocolate cream filling. The tiny pieces of candied fruit on top cut through the richness and add a fruity twist. Of course, compared to the creative artistry served up at Adriano Zumbo down the road, the tarts look as plain as a swiss roll, but I like their classic elegance. Next I popped into Belle Fleur for some dark chocolate buttons, but the tart gave me such a chocolate hit I haven’t made it to them yet.

5 Comments

  1. Posted June 21, 2011 at 4:23 am | Permalink

    We missed you!

  2. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted June 21, 2011 at 10:37 am | Permalink

    Thanks Mads.

  3. Posted June 26, 2011 at 7:14 am | Permalink

    I’m glad to see you back, I’ve missed your posts!

  4. Posted June 30, 2011 at 4:12 am | Permalink

    Victoire’s bread is by far the best in Balmain and Rozelle. Delicious! I have missed you x

  5. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted June 30, 2011 at 8:58 am | Permalink

    Glad you agree Liz, for some reason I think it’s so much better in its new location.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

