Happy easter

I love colouring Easter Eggs. My family almost didn’t do it this year as we were all so busy, but we finally got our acts together today and dyed a dozen eggs.

My friend Bean discovered an egg-citing app – Martha Stewart’s Egg Dyeing 101 and I tried to replicate her ‘masking’ techniques. For this green egg, I cut M-tape into thin strips, wrapped some around the egg, then dipped it in weak green dye. Then I wrapped another M-tape strip around it and dipped it in stronger blue dye for a minute. Once it was dry, I peeled off the sticky tape.


I was happy with the result, although it was definitely not in the same league as Martha’s egg (below). I wonder if using M-tape instead of regular sticky tape causes the dye to seep in a bit.

I attempted her ‘masking with rubber bands’ method for this pink one. Wasn’t overly successful but I think with practice it would get easier.

Our finished easter-egg basket. 🙂

Chloe the easter puppy.

8 Comments

  1. Posted April 24, 2011 at 12:41 pm | Permalink

    so cute! happy easter!

  2. Bean
    Posted April 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

    They are beautiful!!!

  3. Posted April 24, 2011 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

    So pretty, I love the madras-stylee egg! xx

  4. Posted April 24, 2011 at 6:27 pm | Permalink

    I actually like the eggies done with the rubber bands. It’s true that you can see the ink leak but it somehow makes it more natural-looking, or in any case it gives the egg a softer look… I like it!

  5. Posted April 26, 2011 at 4:14 am | Permalink

    Is there anything that washi tape can’t do?? Congrats on Easter egg success, your Martha attempts look ace! Hope you are enjoying what remains of the break!

  6. Posted April 27, 2011 at 8:13 am | Permalink

    Oh wow! these are SO fun! and particularly impressed with Chloe’s enthusiasm!

  7. Posted May 1, 2011 at 4:04 am | Permalink

    They look so pretty. You’ve inspired me to do this with my little girls. I haven’t done it since I was little.x

  8. Posted May 4, 2011 at 6:57 am | Permalink

    Amos these are beautiful!! xx

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

