Easter yummies

Those crunchy little malty, chocolatey treats known as Maltesers have been squished and squashed into an Easter bunny shape, awesomely called a ‘MaltEaster’. I think this is the first year the MaltEaster bunny has visited Oz, but it has been around in the UK for a couple of years – it even has its own Facebook page.

Inside the milk chocolate bunny is a malt flavoured creme, with crunchy malt-flavoured honeycomb.

The UK-made bunnies feature a disclaimer on the back, saying “No actual Maltesers were hurt during the making of this bunny”. On the UK website for Maltesers I found out that Maltesers are so light they float on water (don’t know if you could say the same about the bunny), and that you can make a Maltesers layer cake.

Also in the running for cutest Easter-bunny shaped treat is Cadbury’s Marshmallow Great Bunny. It used to be my all-time favourite Easter candy, but I reckon they change the recipe every year and this time around the packaging may be the cutest part of it.

Case in point.

On the inside it is a crazy bright hot-pink colour with a super-sweet strawberry flavour. I have no picture of the inside but it is even brighter than the pink in the sunset below – this was the sky near my house a few weeks ago.

9 Comments

  1. Posted March 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

    Oh that malted easter bunny is so cute, I mean the design is really simple but darling, not like any others I’ve seen! I love easter candy, but I specifically asked for no candy in my basket this year haha!

  2. Posted March 29, 2011 at 2:25 am | Permalink

    I’d also highly recommend Cadbury Mini Eggs. Milk chocolate deliciousness encased in a hard candy shell in pretty, pastel colours. Amazing and very addictive. The girls at work and I have developed ‘a pack a day’ habit. Happy Easter! x

  3. Posted March 30, 2011 at 6:11 am | Permalink

    Easter candies are just sooo cute, aren’t they? And Cadbury Creme Eggs rock the most!

  4. Posted March 31, 2011 at 5:23 am | Permalink

    ‘MaltEaster’ bunny! That’s brilliant!! I always coordinate an easter egg hunt in our studio, so I’ll have to throw in a couple of those!

  5. Posted April 2, 2011 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

    Aww. The shape of the first one is so cute. I have to say it looks better than the second one, although I’m sure they both tasted great.
    &I love the sunset with the boats. So pretty!

  6. Posted April 4, 2011 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    Riiiight. MaltEaster. I get it now : ) Yum!! xx

  7. Posted April 5, 2011 at 9:46 am | Permalink

    OMG. I am now sitting at my PC wishing I had a Easter basket full of those MaltEaster bunnies!

  8. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted April 6, 2011 at 11:24 am | Permalink

    They are well worth seeking out, and the Maltesers easter eggs are great too! Thanks all for your comments x

  9. Posted April 21, 2011 at 2:27 pm | Permalink

    oh how cute are the malteasters!!! oh i miss easter so much!!

One Trackback

  1. […] MaltEaster Bunnies, they’re like normal malteasers, but with a creamy malty layer, and little pieces of honeycomb. I am compulsively shoving these into my face over the seasonal easter period. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

