Matcha madness

Yum! Mads and I tried the matcha latte and iced matcha latte at Azuma patisserie yesterday. I had the iced one and it was so refreshing and energising on a hot, sticky late-summer afternoon. It was Mads’s first matcha latte experience and unfortunately it wasn’t 100 per cent successful. She tried it with soy milk and it turns out it doesn’t really work with soy. I guess it needs the sweetness of the dairy milk to give it that delicious creamy latte taste and balance out the bitter green tea.

A funny thing happened while we were there.ย  The guy in line in front of us picked up one of the plastic models of the matcha soft serve cones (pictured above) and tried to buy it. He seriously thought they were selling plastic models of ice-cream cones for $4.50.

12 Comments

  1. Peter
    Posted February 28, 2011 at 10:31 am | Permalink

    oishisou!

  2. Posted February 28, 2011 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    Oh I want some!

  3. Emma
    Posted February 28, 2011 at 11:23 am | Permalink

    Hahaha oops! That’s a bit awkward but for $4.50 it would be a steal!
    I ate my last matcha Kit Kat yesterday. Admittedly it was out of date and somewhat stale, but I couldn’t bare to waste it!

  4. Posted February 28, 2011 at 11:39 am | Permalink

    Oh wow, they both looks so delicious! I wonder where I can try Matcha flavoured drinks here in Melbourne? New mission for March!

  5. Posted February 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm | Permalink

    I suppose they would make nice paperweights, but I’d prefer the actual ice cream ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Meg
    Posted February 28, 2011 at 2:02 pm | Permalink

    They look yummy and cute!
    And also the logo mark “ๆฑ”(azuma) is cuteโ™ช

  7. Posted February 28, 2011 at 3:02 pm | Permalink

    I wanna go matcha mad right now XD The drinks look sooo yummy. And I don’t blame the guy for trying to buy one of those ice cream cones, they are awesome hehe

  8. Posted March 1, 2011 at 3:54 am | Permalink

    Look delicious. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Haha, I would want to do that too. Buy one for $4.50, but I would be too embarrassed to try to bargain for it.

  9. Posted March 1, 2011 at 7:35 am | Permalink

    Gorgeous matcha lattes there! I agree that soy milk isn’t the best thing to go with green tea – full-fat milk or nothing!

  10. Posted March 2, 2011 at 5:10 am | Permalink

    Those look delicious! I don’t mind matcha with soy milk, but I prefer it with cream, definitely. Now I want some!

  11. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted March 3, 2011 at 11:06 am | Permalink

    Thanks all for your comments ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Linda
    Posted March 5, 2011 at 6:36 am | Permalink

    both the matcha latte & iced look cho oishii so! I love matcha and anything matcha flavored! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I want one of those ice cream cone plastic models too!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Making matcha latte « pretty pretty yum yum on April 23, 2011 at 3:48 am

    […] developing an addiction to the matcha lattes at Azuma patisserie and Starbucks, I started to think about making it myself. I bought a little tin of pure matcha […]

  2. By Vegetarisch eten | Dinner Cheque on June 14, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    […] bron: prettyprettyyumyum.com […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

