Candy strawberries to melon soda

‘Milk candy’ strawberries from the new year festival at Sumiyoshi Taisha in Osaka. Fresh strawberries inside a hard milk candy shell. Similar to a toffee apple but with a thinner, easier-to-crunch-through toffee coating. Yummy!

The festival was so very busy! We took this shot when we got up on the famous red bridge, looking back at the way we had come.

Cakes from my friend Fujie’s favourite cafe in the top of Takashimaya.


Bunny cream buns from my favourite bakery in Umeda, Osaka (it’s near the Midosuji line subway gates, turn right and it will be on your left).

Blueberry and ‘rhea’ (or rare??) cheese crepe from Shinsaibashi. I had never heard of this cheese but I saw it all over Japan this trip. It was soft like cream cheese but with a different flavour.

The bag my teddy bear milk pudding came in.

A sheep cake from that same Umeda bakery.

Melon soda at a fun cafe in America Mura! 🙂

9 Comments

  1. Posted February 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm | Permalink

    I adore that strawberry cake – How fresh those strawberries look!! Yummy.
    And the crepe looks totally great! Wow, I’d really love to try that.

  2. Posted February 1, 2011 at 7:57 pm | Permalink

    Wow! Everything looks so tempting. I wish I was there.

    BTW, could the “rhea” cheese refer to “real” cheese? 🙂

  3. Posted February 2, 2011 at 11:08 am | Permalink

    Aww, Japan has the most adorable food!

  4. Posted February 2, 2011 at 4:18 pm | Permalink

    OMG I’ve had melon soda! it’s so green you think it’ll turn you into a batman villain

  5. Posted February 2, 2011 at 6:53 pm | Permalink

    Oooh, these pictures are fun! I really like the look of those candied strawberries. Looks like you had a good time in Japan.

    I think rare cheese is right. I did a little digging on Google, and it looks like “rare” in that case just means “not baked” as in no-bake cheesecake.

  6. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted February 3, 2011 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    Irit and Deb, you are probably right. That would definitely make sense!! Maybe it is the Japanese version of cream cheese???? 🙂

  7. Posted February 7, 2011 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

    so many delicious treats! I’m drooling!

  8. Posted February 8, 2011 at 2:15 am | Permalink

    Those candied strawberries look adorable! My friends who have been to Japan always have something good to say about their dessert crepes and that photo you put up is giving me violent crepe cravings lol! Are you still in Japan, hun?

  9. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted February 8, 2011 at 8:47 pm | Permalink

    Hi Ilyana! I’m back home now… was there for 2 weeks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

