Sugar hit

Only a few days left to try the Sugar Hit at Azuma Kushiyaki (part of Crave Food Festival)! I went last week with Lee Tran, Sarah, Bron and Ben. It’s $20 for a bento box dessert ‘degustation’ with a green tea, dessert wine or cognac. We grouped our macarons together for the pic above – mine was a summery-tasting mango one with single quote marks for eyes and a ‘D’ for a smile.

It was an ‘East meets West’ tasting plate (that bright green tart is matcha ganache, and that green dot on top of the chocolate tart is wasabi).

Freeze-dried raspberry flakes atop the Belgian choc mousse. Lee Tran and I had had a sneak peek of this the week before when we dropped in for green tea and noticed that everyone else in the cafe was eating the dessert bentos. As soon as we saw the smiley-face macarons (and the menu) we knew we had to return.

That’s Sarah’s chirpy-looking macaron above. My favourite item was probably the vanilla pannacotta. I wish I liked matcha more, but I could only eat half of the matcha green tea tart, it was too ‘matcha’ for me…

7 Comments

  1. Posted October 27, 2010 at 1:00 pm | Permalink

    So great to relive this two-bento goodness. Your photos turned out wonderfully. Super kawaii! x

  2. ritzyroxie
    Posted October 27, 2010 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

    Ooh, those look so delish! Especially that chocolate mousse!

  3. Posted October 27, 2010 at 6:36 pm | Permalink

    Wow, those desserts look so cool. I like that idea of east meets west desserts. If I was there I could have finished that matcha tart for you no problem XD

  4. Posted October 28, 2010 at 6:10 am | Permalink

    Wasabi with chocolate?!? Now that’s something I’ve never had! That matcha tart looks so perky – and I’ve never seen cheerier macarons! ❤

  5. Posted October 28, 2010 at 9:36 am | Permalink

    Wow, that’s certainly a good collection of the various macaron flavours!

  6. Posted October 31, 2010 at 12:34 pm | Permalink

    My macaron was chirpy looking! …yet like the pig dumplings I didn’t hesitate when it came time to demolish it.

  7. Posted November 1, 2010 at 2:37 am | Permalink

    WOW that looks YUM! 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

