Cookbook giveaway!

I had the lovely task of sub-editing a magazine cookbook recently – Better Basics Biscuits, Cakes & Slices, and the editor has kindly given me FOUR copies to give away! The cookbook will satisfy any sweet tooth, covering everything from OTT chocolate cakes (sacher torte, black forest, mississippi mud, triple-choc cheesecake) to light-as-air sponge cakes, caramel slice, rocky road, and every cookie under the sun (gingerbread, shortbread, melting moments, chewy Anzacs and crunchy Anzacs, biscotti, florentines, fortune cookies, macarons…) The recipes are by Better Homes & Garden’s Ed Halmagyi, known as “Fast Ed”.

If you would like to win a copy, leave a comment below, answering the question

What was the first thing you remember baking?

The competition closes October 15. Four winners will be selected randomly after the closing date and contacted by email. Competition is open to all readers.

54 Comments

  1. Posted October 6, 2010 at 12:30 pm | Permalink

    That would be my grandma’s recipe for butter cookies πŸ™‚ Because of the different quality of ingredients we have here compared to back home overseas, the cookies I baked here are more fragile – so you can imagine what was left in the container when I brought it home overseas πŸ˜›

  2. Posted October 6, 2010 at 1:00 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I attempted to bake was a fluffy orange cake, but I messed it up completely.

    That’s why I really need this book! πŸ™‚

  3. Maureen
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 1:14 pm | Permalink

    It was in a Suzy Bake Oven and it was a “cake” mixture that came with the set.

  4. Posted October 6, 2010 at 3:10 pm | Permalink

    The first that I remember is the cinnamon cookies that I made with the help of my mom!

  5. Posted October 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

    So my first cooking memory is not the healthier, but I was a kid! I was around 10 and everyday we got back home with my sister to have lunch. We usually put in the microwave what my Mum left us but what she didn’t know is that for desert I did the most sugary dessert that could exist: Ice cream + whipped cream + chocolate (sparkles, melted… whatever we could find), icing sugar, caramel and fruits. Talk about a super diet. And I was reading Roal Dahl books to my sister while we were enjoying our dessert!

  6. Asia B.
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 3:22 pm | Permalink

    Making gingerbread men for Santa is my earliest memory of baking. Before that I was limited to making bologne sandwiches.

  7. Lynette Komar
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    Pumpkin pie at Christmas!
    My mom showed me how to use measuring spoons so I could add the cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt to the pumpkin pie filling. I remember taking my job very seriously by making sure that the cinnamon was precisely leveled in the tablespoon. When the pie was baked I felt so proud of it, even though I just measured the spices.

  8. Posted October 6, 2010 at 5:02 pm | Permalink

    Banana bread with my grandmother when I was really little; she’d put me on a chair to reach the counter and hold the bowl while I mashed the bananas together! Good times πŸ™‚

  9. Helen
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 5:14 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I ever baked was a simple Chocolate cake. It was for my dad’s b’day but it turned out horrible so I ended up buying him one instead πŸ˜›

  10. Kelly
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 5:40 pm | Permalink

    A tiny yellow cake in my EZ-Bake oven. It was a perfect golden brown, and smelled just like one my mom would have made. All full of pride, I rushed off to find my mom and show her.

    When I got back to the kitchen table, mom in tow, the family dog was happily gulping down hot cake and the little round cake pan was lying upside down on the carpet, surrounded by yellow crumbs.

    I cried. My older brother laughed. That’s okay, though, I got even with him πŸ™‚

  11. musketnuss
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

    This is a really, really, really awesome giveaway. The first thing I remember baking is a marble bundt cake. I always made it with my Mum and licked out the bowls until I had stomach ache, but I didn’t care. And one day, I made one all by myself. πŸ™‚

  12. Posted October 6, 2010 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

    The book looks wonderful! The first thing I remember baking would be pan dulces with my dad. They take forever to make, but they’ve always been our special Christmas food.

  13. Phyllis
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 7:44 pm | Permalink

    My mom’s famous curry chicken turnovers. They are pretty hard to mess up- my mom made the chicken curry and I just folded them up in puff pastry. Delicious and easy!

  14. Posted October 6, 2010 at 8:01 pm | Permalink

    Apple muffins! It was after my trip to London, where I tried muffins for the first time. I was amazed and needed to try at home.

  15. ritzyroxie
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 8:57 pm | Permalink

    What an adorable book! The first thing I remember baking is my Grandma’s Christmas roll out cookies with her. They are the best cookies ever! She makes everthing from scratch, and the icing melts in your mouth. They are pretty fantastic.

  16. Cheryl W.
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 9:34 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking was pumpkin cream cheese logs. It was right after my mother passed away when I was 11. My sisters and I had become lethargic and numb. We moped around the house (we to live with our dad and stepmom). I remember my step mom trying so hard to lift our moods, so she taught us to paint, how to play the piano and to bake. Our first lesson was pumpkin cream cheese roll and I honestly enjoyed that time even despite the tragedy. Today that is still my very favorite dessert to eat and bake.

    This book looks so amazing, thank you for the opportunity to enter.

  17. Rachel
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 10:22 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I remember being able to bake by myself is my Mom’s chocolate cake recipe. I desperately wanted to make cookies.. but i think the thought of an eight year old trying to cream butter and sugar while teetering on a stool may have made Mom a little more than a little nervous.

    I still make this cake to this day. One bowl. Awesome!

  18. frederica
    Posted October 6, 2010 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    The first thing that I remember baking was gingerbread cookies! It’s a Christmas tradition for my family and we still do it to this day.

  19. sydney85
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 3:09 am | Permalink

    I made chocolate chip cookies that ended up being overcooked. Luckily, the second batch turned out just right.

    masperle@austin.rr.com

  20. Yummy
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 3:44 am | Permalink

    I’d like to win a copy of this awesome cookbook!!
    The first thing that I remember baking was cupcakes. Obviously, they looked pretty ugly, but to me they tasted SO SO FABULOUS πŸ™‚

  21. Hikage
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 4:40 am | Permalink

    Okay, it’s not actually baking, but it involves candy, so I guess it counts?

    I was a kid back then and joined that science club, it was so much fun…you know these candies that pops and cracks in your mouth when you eat them? Well, that was what we did as our first experiment! It was so funny, I remember putting too much -insert ingredient that makes candy pop here- and it tasted awful! Haha, awww. Memories :’D

  22. Posted October 7, 2010 at 7:09 am | Permalink

    Oh it was for christmas with my mom baking black&white cookies. I loved eating the dough before baking (^__^)
    Baking with my mom was so much fun but the kitchen was soooo dirty after that (-_-)

  23. Nurain
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 8:03 am | Permalink

    Oh yeaah.. I went the instant way. Pestered my mom to get me Betty Crocker’s Fudge Brownie Mix, just because it looked so fudgeliciously scrumptious on the pack! Easy enough for a 9 year old me. Hmm… Gonna have to relive that moment and get one for the 26 year old me soon!

  24. Ez
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    Chocolate cakes with my mum. I would measure and then proceed to lick everything i could get my hands on; beaters, spoons, bowls, my fingers !,!

  25. Posted October 7, 2010 at 10:46 am | Permalink

    Please can i have it. ilove your posts, by the way.
    xx

  26. Posted October 7, 2010 at 10:48 am | Permalink

    Oh i forgot to tell you.
    My first experience in baking was standing with my grandmother in the kitchen. She baked two large cakes every week because she had 12 children. I was begging to get the spoons and bowl to eat the raw dough!Yum!
    XX

  27. Posted October 7, 2010 at 11:43 am | Permalink

    There probably was a cake-from-the-box incident prior to this, but the earliest I can actually remember is from not too long ago (maybe 5 years ago?), and it was a Mango Cake with Passionfruit and Coconut from the Cranks cookbook. I remember the batter sliding through the not-quite-secure springform tin! Oops! And the zesty smell of the grated lime and dessicated coconut, mixed together. Yum.

  28. Melanie
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 7:29 pm | Permalink

    First thing I remember baking would be chocolate chip cookies with my mom! She knows all the best tricks to make them really soft and chewy, yum! A classic!

  29. Joan
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 11:09 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I ever baked was cornbread. I know it’s not a sweet treat but it is baked.
    joosbornenc at yahoo dot com

  30. Posted October 8, 2010 at 2:23 am | Permalink

    I started out with peanut butter cookies. They were the easiest thing in my mother’s cookbook.

  31. keii
    Posted October 8, 2010 at 3:36 am | Permalink

    a cake with cupcake mix =)

  32. Timmy
    Posted October 8, 2010 at 4:36 am | Permalink

    Chocolate crackles – does that count? They were a triumph. Mag looks great

  33. Posted October 8, 2010 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    sweet! this looks amazing.

    the first thing I remember baking in my own rather than helping out was a simple brownie recipe in the Better Homes and Gardebns checkered “junior cookbook.” friggin loved that book.

  34. Ieesha
    Posted October 8, 2010 at 10:13 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking is a pecan Pie..My Grandmother is a deep southern Woman, and when i was a little girl I have all ways loove to watch her Cook so one one day i ask her can I help (I think i was like 10) and She said to me ” surge i been waiting for you to ask me that for a long time”. That Day I learn how to make Pecan PIE!!!

  35. Posted October 9, 2010 at 6:32 am | Permalink

    The first thing I ever baked was cherry cheesecake tarts.

  36. Posted October 9, 2010 at 4:26 pm | Permalink

    Chocolate chip cookies with my mom πŸ™‚

  37. Melanie LaGant
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 12:44 am | Permalink

    Christmas sugar cookies with my mom to leave out for Santa.

  38. Beth Adams
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 2:36 am | Permalink

    The first thing I ever baked was onion bread with my dad. Luckily I got the recipe cause it was good. πŸ˜‰

  39. Jessica
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 6:01 am | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking was a pumpkin pie with my dad. We used to put food coloring in the pumpkin, which would gross out my brother.

  40. Helen
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 8:52 am | Permalink

    Chocolate chip cookies – so very tasty when eaten fresh out of the oven!

  41. Posted October 10, 2010 at 11:28 am | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking is Donna Hay’s chocolate chip cookies- my sisters kindly told me they tasted like rocks. (I had melted the butter in batches in the microwave, and forgotten half the butter, in the microwave, which was found later that day!)
    Oh dear, what a disaster!!!

  42. Leslie
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 3:47 pm | Permalink

    Aha, I remember baking with my Mum. She used to do everything from scratch, Cake, Iceing, the whole nine yards. We made a sail boat cake for my Dad. =P
    I still have pictures.

  43. Felo
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 6:16 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I rembember baking is my mom’s classic chocolate cake. It was when I used to live in France. We had a blue kitchen with yellow knobs, and my little brother got his fingers stuck in the electric whisk.
    Today, I’m old enough to bake on my own. And I still love to. ❀

  44. Posted October 11, 2010 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

    I made blueberry muffins for my 5th grade class when we were putting together a class cookbook. I had helped my mom bake all the time growing up, but that blueberry muffin recipe was the first time I did one by myself with no help. I was so proud of it and it tasted awesome! My classmates thought so too. =D I still love to bake to this day and would absolutely LOVE to use this book to create masterpieces!

  45. Sophie
    Posted October 11, 2010 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

    I remember the first time I made scones- they came out completely flat!

  46. Kate
    Posted October 11, 2010 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking was white bread with my grandfather.

    The first thing I baked alone was ginger snaps, they’re still my go-to recipe!

  47. Posted October 12, 2010 at 3:22 am | Permalink

    Chocolate chip cookies, with my Ma and the old Sunbeam stand mixer, and with my dad coming in from shoveling our driveway to snitch them hot off the cooling board. I’m sure I helped *besides* getting to lick the beaters, but I honestly can’t remember now. It was a while ago! πŸ˜€

    They are still my favorite cookie ever, and my husband’s favorite cookie. We made them together in college, too, although we generally just ate the dough raw. I *have* branched out some, though, and bake a lot at Christmas. I’d love to try out some new recipes.

  48. Swati
    Posted October 12, 2010 at 6:03 pm | Permalink

    It was a strawberry cheesecake (with chicken pot pie) for my boyfriend’s birthday dinner. Go big or go home, right?!?! It was also my first attempt at cooking american food (I am Indian). lol. It had cracks all over, but he loved it ^_^ He said the cheesecake tasted better than his mom’s (who is a baker). I was soo proud and glowing with happiness. It was very cute πŸ˜€ I admit it was at that moment that I began my love affair with baking!

    Thank You for this opportunity btw and I love your blog!!

  49. Aerin
    Posted October 12, 2010 at 10:01 pm | Permalink

    The book looks great! There was always baking going on in our house, so I was probably helping to make things farther back than I can remember. But the first thing I made on my own was chocolate chip cookies – I didn’t have a recipe and I had to keep calling my dad to ask him details that I -thought- I knew! lol I love to bake now, particularly sweets. πŸ™‚

  50. Posted October 13, 2010 at 6:31 am | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking was a chocolate chip cookie in my Easy Bake Oven! I used to love that crazy thing! Other then that, the first thing in a real oven I remember baking would probably have to be Thanksgiving pie with my mom! ^_^

  51. Deb
    Posted October 13, 2010 at 1:09 pm | Permalink

    i think it was chocolate chip cookies from a betty crocker mix.. we all have to start from somewhere ya πŸ™‚ but i love baking from scratch now!

  52. Jennifer Burns
    Posted October 14, 2010 at 2:27 am | Permalink

    I remember baking sugar cookies. I put so much food coloring in them, and accidentally used too much baking soda. They were booger colored and super salty. My mother pretended like she enjoyed them, but she didn’t fool me. They were gross!

  53. Lucy Haass
    Posted October 14, 2010 at 10:42 pm | Permalink

    The first thing I remember baking was peanut butter and chocolate cookies when I was in Kinder. We all passed around the ingredients and all got a turn at sifting some flower. It was so much fun, and inspired my love for cooking and baking.

  54. Posted July 16, 2013 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

    390157 454635Basically wanna remark which you have a quite good internet internet site , I enjoy the layout it in fact stands out. 624558

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

