Pigging out

Some restaurants become famous for fun or unique menu items (Din Tai Fung – soup dumplings, Wagaya – sushi roulette) and I think the queues outside new Taiwanese eatery Chefs Gallery are partly due to this adorable signature dessert. The piggy buns certainly caught my attention when I read Alison’s post on the restaurant and I’ve been wanting to visit ever since. So tonight Lee Tran, Sarah and I went along to try it out and we decided to go early before the queues started and the piggy buns sold out (we got there at 6pm and waited about 20 mins). I loved the snowflake crumbed chicken, handmade noodles, fried rice with three kinds of egg, handmade egg and spinach tofu, and pork and cabbage dumplings, but the desserts were the highlight.

The buns arrive steaming hot and are filled with black sesame paste. On the menu it says they will taste as sumptuous as they look. I disagree. But I would still order them again and again!

We also tried the pumpkin-flavoured dumplings.

8 Comments

  1. Posted September 24, 2010 at 3:17 pm | Permalink

    Yum black sesame! Those piggy buns look so cute! I can’t believe they put that much effort into making buns look cute, the pumpkin ones look great too^^

  2. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 25, 2010 at 6:32 am | Permalink

    Yep, I love that someone came up with the idea of making buns decorated like pigs, and in the restaurant it isn’t the kids going crazy over them, it’s the adults! When they arrived the girl sitting at the table next to us leant over and asked if she could take a photo of them with her phone.

  3. Sarah
    Posted September 25, 2010 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

    The photos look great! My favourite is the piggys on plates. Though I’m kind of surprised the one with the awesome chopstick face has been edited out ; )

  4. Posted September 26, 2010 at 7:04 am | Permalink

    Yay! I’m glad you got to try them. 🙂

  5. Posted September 26, 2010 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    They just look amazing, how cute!!!I almost couldn’t eat them…almost….

  6. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 27, 2010 at 12:07 pm | Permalink

    Sarah, you’re right I should have included them. Maybe there’ll be a sequel.

    Al, yayyyyyyyyyyyyy!

    HiiRagi, i know, I wanted to just keep them forever instead of eating them :/

  7. Posted September 28, 2010 at 5:14 am | Permalink

    Piggies AND pumpkins?!? Too cute!!!

  8. Posted September 29, 2010 at 7:37 am | Permalink

    The pumpkin buns are cute too!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

