Cookies enabled

I always thought the only cookies you could get on the internet were the ones used by web browsers, but I’ve been noticing more and more freshly-baked goods for sale online. On etsy you can buy the very cheerful icebox cookies pictured above (flavours are lemon, black sugar, matcha and black sesame…yum!), from California-based etsy store Sparkles Kitchen (they also make pretty macarons and madeleines). For some reason it feels a bit funny to buy cookies online, but maybe just because it’s unfamiliar. The companies (small businesses) say that they bake the goods on receiving an order and then post express. Sparkles Kitchen says the above cookies will keep for 2 weeks after they arrive. They cookies cost $8 for a pack of 24, so it’s a similar price to buying fancy-ish cookies in a store.   

And they are very cute, I am tempted.

I also found a whole website devoted to buying food online, called Foodzie, but it seems to just ship within America. People sell handmade jam, biscuits, honey, chocolate and cakes, just like at gourmet food markets. You can buy everything, from French Apple Pie granola to Earl grey sandwich cookies.

Seems like a pretty cute idea to me. I would love to see an Aus version.

4 Comments

  1. Posted September 19, 2010 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    The black sesame ice box cookies sound really good, black sesame is not a flavor I can find in the US and its one of my favorite haha.

    The earl grey looks great too!

  2. Posted September 19, 2010 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    i agree sending biscuits and food in the mail seems pretty common in the states but im always wary about sending food here in oz. also because i have a sneaking suspicion that my mailman ‘loses’ my parcels

  3. Posted September 20, 2010 at 3:50 am | Permalink

    Now, those are some truly friendly-looking cookies! 😉

  4. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    Sara Mari, I love black sesame flavour too! usually it’s with icecream but I love the idea of black sesame cookies. ^__^

    Suze, hrmmmmm, a scary thought. I would be very disappointed if my biscuits didn’t arrive :/

    Midge, I don’t know what it is about smileys but they always make things cuter!!!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

