Cover lover

I don’t usually buy Vogue Australia but I am in love with their October cover in all its pretty-in-pink glory. The model is a 17-year-old from the Sunshine Coast called Codie Young. She has braces, which is why she doesn’t really smile. The photographer was Nicole Bentley and the fashion editor was Meg Gray, who has amazing hot pink hair, and who I went to high school with. 🙂

The shoot features another Australian model, Rose, who looks almost identical to Codie, and I honestly can’t tell them apart in any of the beautiful shots. They’re not related, but they look like sisters, right?

8 Comments

  1. Posted September 4, 2010 at 6:13 pm | Permalink

    Love the style, but i can’t stand how thin models have to be nowadays.
    xx

  2. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 5, 2010 at 1:50 am | Permalink

    I know, it’s terrible 😦 There’s more debate than ever about models’ weights but they keep getting skinner and skinnier

  3. Nicole
    Posted September 7, 2010 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

    It is less the overwhelming thinness, to me, and more the emphasis on an UNHEALTHY thinness. There’s a difference between, say, the size 0 I went to school with who was visibly healthy, vibrant, and just had a naturally amazing metabolism, and the starved, sickly-looking girls that pervade most runways–and this cover. There’s a difference between a woman who weighs that much at that height and is visibly healthy and one whose ribs are clearly delineated and whose cheeks are hollow and eyes are lifeless.

    I think it’s this refusal to distinguish between a thin woman and a starved woman that are why super-skinny women are subjected to the same kinds of shunning overweight women are. I am overweight myself but it horrifies me to hear people tell someone, “go eat something,” when it’s obvious they’re just naturally small.

    If there was a focus instead on healthy weights–mine isn’t, I’m a bad example–born from a healthy diet and a healthy lifestyle, there would naturally be all sizes on the runways except for probably morbidly obese women (some would, however, be “overweight” I am sure). There would still be coltish, stilt-legged women who are thin as a rail–but they wouldn’t be starved. And I think that’s the big difference.

    /soapbox

    Styling in these photos is to die for, on a more relevant note 😀

  4. Posted September 8, 2010 at 2:49 am | Permalink

    Anorexic models notwithstanding (I abhor scrawny, skeletal girls!), this photoshoot combines two of my favorite aesthetic details: roses and delicate makeup. 🙂

  5. Posted September 8, 2010 at 9:38 pm | Permalink

    whoa, that model looks like a Tim Burton character….she has such an…eerie quality to her pics

  6. ritzyroxie
    Posted September 9, 2010 at 3:51 am | Permalink

    Those models are insanely skinny. Here in America the cfda(a group of designers and magazine editors) passed some regulations that pretty much stopped the use of extremely thin models here. I hope everyone else stops, too. Soon.

  7. Posted September 9, 2010 at 6:41 pm | Permalink

    Beautiful, beautiful pictures!

    Cheers!

    Miki.

  8. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 14, 2010 at 12:28 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for your comments. Interesting to hear what you all think about the images. I think thin models are so prevalent in media these days that it’s easy to become desensitised to them, I know I have grown so accustomed to seeing them in mags that I don’t notice their weight as much as I used to. Which is kinda scary :/

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

