Ice-cream Sunday

The first time I tried licorice ice-cream was in the Blue Mountains when I was about 8 years old. It was so surprisingly delicious that I have always remembered it, and when I spotted “Licorice Twist” ice-cream at Wendy’s about six months ago I knew I had to taste it. Unfortunately for me, by the time I got to a store, the flavour was no longer available. I mentioned my woe to my friend Bean, who commiserated with me. But then a few weeks later a miraculous text message arrived. “I found Licorice Twist at my local Wendy’s! I will get some for you!!” Turns out the Wendy’s at Rhodes has a secret stash of the limited-edition flavour. It’s not out on display, you have to ask specifically for it. (Bean is a genius.) “Licorice Twist? I may be able to help you out…” said the Wendy’s girl yesterday before she disappeared under the counter.

^^ Licorice Twist macro. I am not even that big a fan of licorice but when it becomes ice-cream it is magic.

The flavours on the wendy’s website (screen grab above – i love how they made them heart shaped) don’t show Licorice Twist 😦

6 Comments

  1. Posted August 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm | Permalink

    I was completely thrown for a minute. I’m from the US and we too have a Wendy’s but it’s not an ice cream parlor. I’m not a licorice fan, but I’d at least try this.

  2. Posted August 24, 2010 at 12:10 am | Permalink

    Oooh. That’s an interesting flavor. I’m not too tempted by it, but I guess it’s one of those “don’t knock it til you try it” kind. Besides, wonderful things can be done with ice cream. πŸ™‚

  3. Posted August 24, 2010 at 5:54 am | Permalink

    Those photos are intense! It looks amazing… but I fear licorice as a flavour.

  4. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 12:11 am | Permalink

    i PROMISE it is delicious πŸ™‚

  5. Nicole
    Posted August 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm | Permalink

    Ditto Rodzilla! I loathe licorice (the smell of anise makes me retch a little) but my boyfriend loves it, and when I saw it was at Wendy’s I was like WHOA REALLY?! WHY?! And then realized it’s something else entirely in Australia.

    That’s sad. I’d rather a decent ice cream parlor around here than yet another lame burger joint. With stale baked potatoes. 😦

  6. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted August 27, 2010 at 4:48 am | Permalink

    ahhh yeah Wendy’s here is just icecream. πŸ™‚

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

