I love you, Sweden

IKEA may sound an unlikely place for a foodie mission but that’s where we found ourselves on Tuesday evening. It was so much fun checking out all the cute and fun Swedish things, and I didn’t even make it to the kids’ furniture section. Of course on the weekend it is crazy busy but weekdays after work is the time to go (it’s open till 9pm and there is NO ONE around). In addition to their famous Swedish meatballs and $1 hot dogs, the cafe makes chicken schnitzel & fries for $3.95. But without doubt the best part of IKEA is the Swedish food store. They sell all varieties of almond cakes, rye crispbread that’s as round and huge as a dinner plate, cute sounding things like Cloudberry Jam (made from berries shaped like clouds), interesting candy and delicious looking Swedish cakes. Because the cakes were frozen and we were going to see Kick-Ass afterwards, I didn’t try any of them, but I will definitely be back.

This gorgeous thing was only about $7.

Princess cake is a trad Swedish cake. It’s not green tea icing, it’s green marzipan!

Mushroom-shaped sweets. Love the sunnies – and the name ‘Skumkantarelle’.

Car shaped candies. Click here to see all IKEA’s candies and cookies, and here to see their range of candy.

9 Comments

  1. Posted April 16, 2010 at 7:22 am | Permalink

    Ohh! they look so good! Wish there was an Ikea around here!

  2. Posted April 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Wow that I Love You cake looks super pretty, and I bet it’s yummy too. I’ve had their princess cake in the restaurant, and it was good. I never put much thought into Ikea sweets, but they are so cute. I will have to pay more attention next time I go.

  3. Posted April 16, 2010 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

    oh gosh princess cake is my favorite thing on earth

  4. Posted April 16, 2010 at 11:29 pm | Permalink

    Wow, those look so yummy(:
    When you try the cakes, you have to take pics xD

  5. Posted April 17, 2010 at 12:10 am | Permalink

    Hi,

    Wow! I had no idea IKEA was so exciting, hehe…I have to go there and try one of the cakes, they look so yummy

  6. Posted April 17, 2010 at 2:22 am | Permalink

    The I love You gateau looks super pretty & tasty!

  7. Bean
    Posted April 18, 2010 at 8:30 am | Permalink

    It has been a while since i have come to visit. i just spent i don’t know how long looking at all the pictures…i will now go and clean up my drool…

  8. Posted April 20, 2010 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

    Love the ‘i love you’ cake! adorable

  9. mikey kun
    Posted April 23, 2010 at 12:15 am | Permalink

    IKEA here i come

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

