Adriano Zumbo

After reading about Adriano Zumbo patisserie on Lee Tran’s gorgeous blog and hearing about her haul of crazily flavoured macarons on their “Macaron Day” (including Chupachup flavour, toasted marshmallow flavour, burnt toast & butter flavour, vegemite sourdough flavour and blue cheese & pear flavour), I had been meaning to visit Adriano Zumbo in Balmain for ages. Finally made it there today thanks to a tour of Balmain’s foodie spots with Liz and Sarah. ( ^_^ ) Picked up a bunch of macarons in very cool flavour combos. The peach-coloured one is peach and pink grapefruit, the green one is fig and something else, the black one is black sesame, the purple one is mango and black sticky rice, the red one is strawberry and balsamic vinegar, and the white one is lychee flavour.

 

They couldn’t help but remind me of the technicolour macarons I tried in Osaka, Japan in a shop in Shinsaibashi (below)….. they were really that bright!

7 Comments

  1. musketnuss
    Posted November 29, 2009 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Again such lovely photos!
    “strawberry and balsamic vinegar” sounds really interesting – how did they taste?
    the technicolour macarons are awesome, they look kind of toxic.

  2. Liz
    Posted November 29, 2009 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm yay!

  3. Posted November 30, 2009 at 1:53 am | Permalink

    Oh wow, that looks like a very good macaron haul, Amy!
    How was the mango & sticky rice and lychee?
    And thank you so much for your super-kind blog mention! Happy to spread the macaron word. I suspect this will not be your last beeline-visit to AZ, though, Amy!

  4. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted December 2, 2009 at 8:25 am | Permalink

    Musketnuss – the strawberry outer biscuit tasted divine, the balsamic was in the creme filling, it tasted salty! reminded me of peanut butter!?

    Liz, you are so lucky, I would be there all the time if I lived as close as you!

    Lee Tran – I will be back for sure, especially if they keep bringing out such interesting flavour combos. I don’t like lychee usually but the flavour was like vanilla, very yum.

  5. Posted December 3, 2009 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    Oh, my: but those macarons look so pop-pretty! Now I have to head to my favorite patisserie and score a couple macarons for myself on the way home… (I think rose and dark cherry-chocolate will be nice…)

  6. Posted December 3, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    I’m so jealous! I’ve been in the States on exchange for the past six months and craving Adriano Zumbo.. I always mean to try his macarons but then I get sidetracked but the rest of the elaborate pastries there. One day, though. ONE DAY.

  7. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted December 9, 2009 at 5:56 am | Permalink

    Midge… dark cherry chocolate macaron? *swoon*

    Alex… yes the patisserie is a bit overwhelming! so much goodness! hope you find some yumminess in the US!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

