Vegie galore KitKat

When my Tokyo friend Jess told me a few weeks ago that the latest KitKat flavour was a collaboration with a popular fruit & vegetable juice and was pale orange in colour (because of the carrot content), I was a bit scared. But she was adamant that it was great! Despite my initial hesitation, I couldn’t wait to try it, and lucky me, Jess sent me one!

Oh boy! It even has carrots on the packaging. (Although it also says on the pack that it is just 0.25% apple/carrot/veg juice.)

It smelled just like you’d imagine fruit/vegie juice flavoured white chocolate to smell (a bit like carrot, a bit like apple). Note – fruit/vegie juice in Japan doesn’t contain any tomato juice, usually it’s carrot or berry flavoured, so it’s still relatively sweet.

In the end I’d have to agree with Jess, it tasted pretty yum! The dominant flavour was an appley, fruity flavour but you could taste just a hint of carrot. I wouldn’t say it’s the best KitKat in the world, but it’s not every day you can say you managed to fulfill your 5-a-day fruit and vegie quota by eating a bunch of KitKats….

The sweetness of Japanese vegie juice is explained on the Ito En website… “Mixing vegetable and fruit juices, ITO EN has made vegetable juices easier to drink by bringing out the natural sweetness of vegetables. In 2004, we launched the Ichinichibun no Yasai (a day’s worth of vegetables) line of 100%-vegetable beverages, which useβ€”in a single packβ€”the equivalent of the recommended daily intake of vegetables specified by the Japanese Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare.”

11 Comments

  1. Posted November 19, 2009 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

    Wow…
    I can’t imagine putting that together in chocolate.
    I really hope that kit kat would make it’s way over to my local grocery markets.

  2. Posted November 19, 2009 at 8:50 pm | Permalink

    That looks exciting, we only have the regular choclate version in my country:S

  3. Posted November 19, 2009 at 11:22 pm | Permalink

    my aunt bought me back some of these and when we were looking at the package it was a case of “IS THAT A CARROT? NEXT TO AN APPLE?!?!”
    but pretty delicious all things considered!

  4. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted November 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

    Ms K & Sandra: thanks for your comments! ^_^
    You can buy some Japanese kitkats on eBay! πŸ™‚
    Here is the direct link to japanese kitkats… i can’t wait to try the Royal Milk Tea flavour.
    http://shop.ebay.com.au/i.html?LH_AvailTo=15&_nkw=japanese+kitkat&_arm=1&_armm=63&_ruu=http://shop.ebay.com.au/i.html%3F_nkw%3Djapanese%2Bkitkat%26_arr%3D1&_rdc=1

    A Girl Called E, yes the dudes who work for kitkat japan seem to love the surprise factor! ! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to try the Royal Milk Tea one…
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/JAPAN-Kitkat-ROYAL-MILK-TEA-flavor-2×2-sticks_W0QQitemZ360207782132QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item53de0e90f4

  5. wentastic
    Posted November 22, 2009 at 12:23 am | Permalink

    these kitkats look so yummy!

    and i love your blog! it’s so much fun to read ❀

  6. Posted November 23, 2009 at 1:35 am | Permalink

    Mmm. ‘Healthy!’

  7. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted November 23, 2009 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    Thanks Wentastic! Cute name! Looking forward to following your blog πŸ™‚

    Lee Tran, yep healthy chocolate, always knew it existed somewhere! πŸ™‚

  8. Posted November 27, 2009 at 7:41 am | Permalink

    I finally tried this one the other day as well! I was shocked to find I enjoyed it. I think I saw these in the IGA at market city as well. Although they are something around $4.

  9. Alexandra
    Posted December 12, 2009 at 12:28 am | Permalink

    I saw this kit-kat bench that I thought you’d enjoy. http://epicwinftw.com/2009/12/09/thinking-outside-the-box-to-solve-hunger/

  10. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted December 14, 2009 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    Emmie, oh good! Glad you liked it too! Yes, they are exxy, but maybe the price is OK for a special treat. πŸ˜‰

    Alexandra, that’s so cool! How awesome! Thanks for sharing!!

  11. Yoto
    Posted January 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm | Permalink

    Just a follow up for anyone in the UK. Cybercandy now have these and a lot of other kitkats in. And clever me didn’t realise until after she’d ordered.

One Trackback

  1. By Nestle Kit Kat Round Up – Pocky Watch on March 6, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    […] the color is off putting. I’ll stick with the juice. 1/5 Read Pretty Pretty Yum Yum’s review of Vegie Galore Kit […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

