Totoro bread

totoro bread

Before I left for Japan, visiting the Studio Ghibli museum was at the top of my list, but it sounded like such a troublesome procedure to organise tickets that in the end I never made it there. Now I’m back I wish I had. T_T

Anyway, I’m sure these Totoro rolls are as cute as the stuff at the Ghibli museum (although I hear you receive an actual animation cell as part of your admission price when you visit the museum… so cool). They’re from the bento book Waku Waku Kyarakuta No Obento from Kinokuniya.

totoro fishing

PS Check out these amazing home-made Totoro cupcakes.

7 Comments

  1. Posted November 16, 2009 at 10:13 am | Permalink

    How gorgeous! I tweeted this link – it’s so cute!
    Love your blog!! xx

  2. Posted November 16, 2009 at 10:18 pm | Permalink

    oh boy, there are fewer things i love more than totoro.
    im kicking myself for never getting to the ghibli museum! i was only in japan for a short amount of time and because it wasn’t close to anything else i was doing i didn’t make it. BUT i’ll get there on day!
    love those rolls… too cute to eat!

  3. Posted November 17, 2009 at 9:40 am | Permalink

    I love Totoro, and those buns are so cute!

  4. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted November 18, 2009 at 11:18 am | Permalink

    Hi Ursuli! Thanks for your comment ^_^
    I loved checking out your blog with your foodie adventures in China!!! 😀

    A Girl Called E, I hope you made it to one of the Studio Ghibli themed stores when you were in Japan, they sell Totoro bentos, chopsticks, fluffy toys, Mei dolls, Cat bus magnets, black fuzzy soot ball keyrings, everything you can imagine in Totoro!

    Karen, aren’t they gorgeous….. and they actually look pretty easy to make?!?! Thanks for commenting and linking to your fab blog!! 😀

  5. Posted November 19, 2009 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    i was lucky enough to score myself a heap of ghibli merch – thank god it’s everywhere!
    i got the soot ball keyring, as well as one on a string that vibrates when you pull it. plus some teeny tiny totoro stamps and other goodies 🙂

  6. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted November 19, 2009 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

    A Girl Called E, Totoro stamps!! Lucky you. I got a Mei doll, it’s mecha kawaii! XD

  7. Keith
    Posted November 23, 2009 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

    I went to the museum a couple of years ago while on vacation. It was fantastic and I highly recommend it. The museum, gift shop and cafe were all excellent. I came back with two bags full of gifts/souvenirs.
    I avoided the complicated english language ticketing process by having a Japanese friend order the tickets for me (also highly recommended).

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

