Best afternoon teas

oz magazine

This issue of Japanese mag OZ is devoted to the best afternoon teas. It has the cutest pics of places to find afternoon tea around Tokyo. The places look very zakka, which I think is taking over from kawaii in Japan right now (it’s kind of minimalist Nordic or French with light wood, organic, neutral colours, handmade items etc). Here are some examples…

bunnies

bakery

roll cake

zakka cafe

pudding parfait

taiyaki

rollcake

matcha cake

donuts

The mag has sections for doughnuts, roll cakes, eclairs, puddings, traditional Japanese desserts etc and has a map of Tokyo with all these places included on it. Check out the gourmet eclair selection.

eclairs

Wait, is that an eclair decorated with a ukiyo-e woodblock illustration of Mount Fuji?

mount fuji eclair

Thought so! Thank you Rob & Nicole for thinking I would love this mag and bringing it back from Japan for me!! If anyone’s interested in the gorgeous afternoon tea issue of OZ, it’s on Amazon here.

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 18, 2009 at 7:35 am | Permalink

    Ow it looks so lovely! And yes I agree I think zakka is the new kawaii! sad in a way but I love zakka too much to care!
    Hope you are having a lovely Sunday!
    Love Love
    Hello Sandwich
    xxx

  2. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted October 18, 2009 at 10:06 am | Permalink

    mag is sooooo pretty. In an ideal world, zakka and kawaii would live together happily side by side. I guess LOFT is still a kawaii lover’s haven ^_^

  3. Posted October 18, 2009 at 11:43 am | Permalink

    I THINK, I KNOW THAT ROLL CAKE. the caramel and matcha roll special from tokyo subways?

  4. Posted October 18, 2009 at 4:33 pm | Permalink

    I’ve given your blog an award, please check by my blog to collect it!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

