Let’s Pez

hello kitty pez

“If I could only have one food to eat for the rest of my life? That’s easy. Pez. Cherry flavor Pez. No question about it.” When Vern (Jerry O’Connell) said this in 1986’s Stand By Me I’d never heard of Pez. I thought he must have said ‘pears’, and I wondered why he liked pears so much. But now Pez candy and dispensers are so huge around the world, it’d be hard to find someone who’s not aware of their cute presence. I picked up the above Hello Kitty Pez dispenser in Japan, then last week in Sydney I saw that there’s an awesome new range of dispensers to celebrate Pez’s 80th anniversary.

80th anniversary pez

I fell in love with these Sanrio ones! They’re from the candy store in Market City (ground level).

Pez collecting is a bit of an art form. Check out this super cool display by One Good Bumblebee.

pez collection

Or this Pez collection is 408 strong, including Spongebob, the Simpsons, Star Wars, Disney, Pooh, Smurfs, Charlie Brown, Sesame Street, Santa Claus, Pokemon, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Super Mario, The Flintstones…

There’s also the amazing Pez Song. It’s a stop motion video starring one family’s collection of Pez dispensers. The video’s made up of 3105 shots.

the pez song

one more thing, there’s a Museum of Pez Memorabilia and it has an online store, which sells a kit to turn 12 Pez dispensers into a wall clock!!!

pez clock

9 Comments

  1. musketnuss
    Posted September 3, 2009 at 8:05 am | Permalink

    Oh, how I love Pez! The cherry flavoured ones are my favourite, too. Did you know they originally come from Austria? My home country! πŸ˜‰ … I think I have to go buy Pez now.
    Greetings from Vienna!

  2. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 3, 2009 at 10:51 am | Permalink

    Oh, wow! I didn’t know that! Thanks Musketnuss πŸ™‚

    Now I’ve looked on Wikipedia!
    “The name PEZ was derived from the letters at the start, the middle and the end of the German word for peppermint, Pfefferminz, the first PEZ flavor.[1] PEZ was originally introduced in Austria, later exported, notably to the U.S., and eventually became available worldwide. The all-uppercase spelling of PEZ echoes the trademark’s style of type on packaging and the dispensers themselves, drawn in perspective and looking as if the letters were built out of 44 brick-like PEZ confectioneries (14 bricks in the P and 15 in each of the E and Z).”

  3. ritzyroxie
    Posted September 3, 2009 at 9:35 pm | Permalink

    πŸ™‚ I have the exact same Hawaiian flower Hello Kitty Pez dispenser!

  4. Posted September 4, 2009 at 1:37 am | Permalink

    I heart Pez so much!
    I found myself a ‘Melody’ Pez dispenser while I was at the Leura Candy shop earlier this year.
    Pez is the ultimate childhood candy love – let’s hope they never faze this out so our children’s children can experience the ‘slide, pop, sugar fun’ Yay!
    I also love that Pez clock – gotta get me one of those!
    Love your blog always! xx

  5. Posted September 6, 2009 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    Wowzers! These are just too cute!
    And I must ask – where on earth is this candy shop in Market City? I’ve hit up the IGA Thai-kee for some goodies… but this sounds great!

  6. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 6, 2009 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    Ritzy Roxie, yay! It’s such a cute, classic design πŸ™‚

    Eve, mmmm the Leura candy shop! Just collect a few more and u can make one of those clocks, or an art installation. I’m thinking about visiting the Leura shop now……..

    A Girl Called E, the shop is on the ground level, near the chemist i think? I think it was near a shoe store too. It’s sort of hovering by itself away from other stores.

  7. Posted September 7, 2009 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

    I fool myself thinking I’m not collecting pez-containers, but all of a sudden I have a a shelf in my office full of them! what happened!!?? The Sanrio-series are just too cute!!

  8. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted September 8, 2009 at 1:11 pm | Permalink

    Lee, that shelf sounds so cute! They are the perfect collectable mini toy πŸ™‚

  9. Posted November 12, 2009 at 2:23 pm | Permalink

    They are so cute!!! I have Pez clock too πŸ™‚

One Trackback

  1. By Pez On The Web : Let’s Pez | Pezcast on September 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

    […] said ‘pears’, and I wondered why he liked pears so much. But now Pez candy and … [Read More] No […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

