Yum yum surprise

surprisepack

I received an OISHI pack of foodie goodness from Lee Tran Lam on the weekend, thank you LTL! (Lee Tran writes the yum Unbearable Lightness of Being Hungry and Local Fidelity music blog). The pack was full of tasty Oz products, which is great, coz it stops my cravings for ramune KitKats and green tea.

Lee Tran has said amazing things about Darlinghurst’s Boon Chocolates and I was excited to find a box of Boon chocolates in the package. Here are the five chocolates that were in the box.

rosewater

Rosewater. The rosewater gave this pretty chocolate a delicate, floral taste. Rosewater is used to flavour sweets like gulab jamun and Turkish delight, and drinks like lassi. I’ve never used it in baking but I’ve seen lots of recipes recently that combine chocolate and rosewater, like this recipe for Organic White Chocolate Rosewater Cupcakes.

lemongrass

Lemongrass. So fresh and lemongrassy. It has a spicy, tangy kick to it.

cardamom

Cardamom. Crunchy, gingery, peppery pieces of the Indian spice are hidden in the chocolate. Whoever thought of this one could definitely get a job in the ‘new flavour department’ for Japanese KitKats.

mountainberry

White chocolate and mountain berry. Kawaii!

balsamic

Strawberry and balsamic vinegar. I am completely obsessed with this flavour.

Also in the pack were some cute little chocolates called GEMS. They are an organic version of Smarties or MnMs. Instead of using artificial colourings, they use organic fruit extracts such as orange, grape, beetroot. 🙂

gems

gemspack

littlegems

6 Comments

  1. Posted August 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    OMG!! You DID NOT have to put up these pics here!! being a chocoholic, and candy-oholic, i’m literally drooling just lukin at them!!!

    excellent work! 😀

  2. Posted August 6, 2009 at 4:17 am | Permalink

    Oh, I love rosewater chocolates and the mountain-berry bonbon looks like a pretty jewel! 😀

  3. Posted August 6, 2009 at 6:47 am | Permalink

    such interesting flavours!
    cardamom has to be the most unique of them all.
    and oh my, they all look so pretty too 🙂

  4. Posted August 6, 2009 at 7:29 am | Permalink

    I love your website…. it’s so so cute!

    Thanks for putting our Boon chocolates on your site….

    I cant help but keep a nice smile after looking at your pic.

    keep it up.
    regards
    alex

  5. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted August 7, 2009 at 5:48 am | Permalink

    Ajab, thanks for your comment! I felt like the chocolates were too pretty to eat, but of course I had to eat them! So I took pix of them so I could remember them 4eva! Hehe!
    Midge, yes i am now a convert to rosewater chocolates, so different. And mountain berry too! this is the website for them
    http://www.boonchocolates.com.au/chocolates.htm
    Lyn, cardamom and chocolate were pretty crazy together! definitely never tasted anything like it before. this is the website for them
    http://www.boonchocolates.com.au/chocolates.htm
    Alex, i love your chocolates! they are so unique and inspiring!!

  6. Posted August 10, 2009 at 5:03 am | Permalink

    I can’t believe I am such a slowcoach to reply to this! Thanks for the awesomely kind blog post, Amy! Really stoked that you enjoyed the sweets as I hugely enjoyed the Japanese treats you sent me (esp the matcha KitKat!)
    I love how you styled the shots, so that the gems and tablecloth camouflage, almost!
    And another Boon convert, excellent! A worthy cause.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

