Osaka Kitty

IMG_9931

This ‘Takoyaki Kitty’ is one of my favourite souvenirs of Osaka. Takoyaki is the most famous Osaka food! It’s a ball of dough with a piece of octopus inside, that is often topped with barbecue sauce, nori and bonito flakes. It’s fun to watch takoyaki being made. The chefs use black cast-iron pans like the one Kitty is holding. They pour the batter over the pan then they turn it constantly until each takoyaki is the shape and size of a golf ball. My friends Rob and Miwa found this Takoyaki Kitty at the Takoyaki Museum in Universal City, right near the entrance to USJ (Universal Studios Japan).

n570090717_771461_5095

I have lived in Osaka for nearly 1.5 years and it has been the best experience! It’s been so fun teaching English in Japanese high schools, living in Nishinari Ku, finding new KitKat flavours in conbinis, hanging out in Ame Mura and Orange St, going to the Sanrio store, doing PuriKura, and visiting Tokyo and Kyoto on weekends. I’ve been in denial about going home coz I’m going to miss it so much. But I am very excited about returning to Sydney. I still have heaps of yummy Japan pictures to upload to PPYY and a few friends (Meg, Fujie, Charlotte) have volunteered to be Japanese snack correspondants for PPYY! Of course I’m looking forward to all the pretty, pretty, yum things in Sydney too.

5 Comments

  1. Posted July 20, 2009 at 5:48 am | Permalink

    Ooh! I love takoyaki – they are absolutely delishhhh 😀
    I really enjoyed your stories/findings in Osaka 🙂 I’m now looking forward to read about the Sydney finds soon 🙂

  2. Posted July 21, 2009 at 2:14 am | Permalink

    i LOVED osaka! would like to go there again. love the buzz 🙂
    it’s quite hard to find pretty and yummy things in sydney as appealing as all those japanese finds! i stick to asian supermarkets, but the range isn’t as good… 😦

  3. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted July 21, 2009 at 11:45 am | Permalink

    Thanks Lyn! Hopefully my friends still in Osaka will keep me and the blog updated with news about cool new Japanese treats 🙂

    Hi Kobe! Yep, I fear that may be true!!!! My friends in Osaka promised to send me exciting products every now and then and if I get desperate for KitKats I might even order from ebay!!! A Flickr friend in Germany orders all her Japanese snacks online!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/sherima/

  4. Richard Co
    Posted November 20, 2009 at 4:23 am | Permalink

    i have my takoyaki cart and i would love to have this takoyaki kitty. where can i buy this. im a hello kitty collector too..

  5. prettyprettyyumyum
    Posted November 21, 2009 at 12:02 am | Permalink

    Hi Richard Co, my friends bought the Takoyaki Kitty at the Takoyaki Museum in Osaka, near Universal Studios. If you live in Osaka or have friends in Osaka maybe they can buy one for you!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

